Lighting and Electrical

I am not an electrician. And as much as I enjoy learning about things and feeling self sufficient and like I can do almost anything myself I do not feel that I need to master all the trades. So my plan all along has been to hire or work with an electrician to wire my house. But what I couldn’t have guessed was that the perfect person to do it with me would come along! Her name is Rebekah Carpenter and she owns Finger Lakes Renewables. She was the one who installed the solar system that John and I now have at ecovillage, where it lived originally, and she is another badass woman who is living in an off grid house that she built herself. So off grid doesn’t scare her, and DIY doesn’t either. Neither does unconventional! Together we have been mapping out and figuring out my electrical over the last two weeks. The first step has been figuring out where all my outlets and fixtures are going and putting boxes in those spots.

To help me do this I ended up using painters tape to map out the rise and run of my stairs and how I will divide up my closet space under my stairs. It is amazing all the little decisions that go into wiring a house. Here are some of the questions I had to consider.

  • Where do I want outlets?
  • Where do I was single gang (2 outlets) or double gang (4 outlets) boxes?
  • Do I want to wire for internet?
  • What about speakers?
  • What kind of fixtures will I be using for lights? Sconces? Overheads? Plugins? Where do I want light switches?

Every tiny house blog I had read says put more outlets then you think you will need. It is silly to have to run extension chords in a tiny house! And yet right now I look around my house and I think, jeez, I have enough plugs for a small city in here! I have tried to widdle down some of my outlets, making some single gang boxes rather than double gang, and really thinking through where I’ve places each one and what I imagine might be plugged in there. But it isn’t easy! I don’t want to end up with too few and at the same time too many feels kind of ridiculous in a tiny house.

Thinking about electrical has also led to an exciting hunt for light fixtures. First I went to Lowes and home depot. There lights are fine and decently priced. Probably completely functional but nothing too special and perhaps a bit cheaply made. Then I went to a high end electrical store and lighting showcase room that Rebekah recommended, with the intention more of just gathering information, but also found myself ogling over the fancy designer lights, many of which were in the $200 to $400 each range. Yikes! But I did want to have lighting I was pleased with and that looked good…

But then one day on my way home I decided to stop at the antique mall, and suddenly a hole other possibly opened up for me. What about antique and salvaged light fixtures? Often these older fixtures are made of high quality materials such as brass, but there price is actually reasonable. And perhaps some will take a little extra work to rewire but they would give my house the personality I am looking for!

So then fo rthe next two days I had fun going to all the reuse centers around Ithaca: Significant elements, Fingerlakes Reuse, Ithaca Antique Mall, Mimi’s attic…. And I think I am now set with just about all my lighting fixtures and probably spend no more than $200 total on them. And I love them!

Take a look:

IMG_4681
This beauty will be the central main light above my kitchen area. It has a three bulb fixture in it and I think should light the space beautiful!
IMG_4692
Next to the stain glass overhead chandelier is a little lantern like light that will go outside under my overhang on the wall that has the herring bone.
IMG_4680
this cute little one (the red one in front) will be my overhead lamp in the bathroom.
IMG_4691
Then I got these two silver sconces that will provide light in my stairwell area.
IMG_4688
And lastly, in my loft I plan to have this beautiful gourd lamp from Graham Ottoson, a local artist here in Ithaca!

I think pretty much covers all my light fixtures. I am still keeping my eye out for a vanity light that I like for over the mirror in my sink, but otherwise I think I am set. And quite pleased with the lights that I found and that they all have a history before they got to me…

Ok, thats all for now! I hope you enjoyed seeing what I have been working on for the last while.

Leave a Reply

