For a couple weeks now I have been working on the inside of my house!!! It is quite exciting that I have finally made it to that stage 🙂

After moving to Hammerstone I began with building my bathroom wall and the small loft that is above my bathroom.

IMG_4654

I built the bathroom wall using 2×4’s that I ripped in half to be 2×2’s. This makes the wall skinnier so that I lose less space to it.The door to my bathroom will be a within the range of dimensions of a standard door: 32 inches. Many tiny houses have bathroom doors that are more like 24″ but a complaint I have often heard about this is that if down the line you say you want to use an RV shower insert most shower inserts won’t even fit through the door! I know that I do want a shower in my bathroom, perhaps even a tiny ofuro style tub, and so I didn’t not want to limit myself as to what will fit in my door. And so I framed out a standard sized door but plan to built it as french doors, thereby lessening the space I will need to be able to fully swing open the doors.

After building my bathroom wall and loft it was time to build the sleeping loft! Having an actual opening in my loft for stairs made my framing job a little bit trickier. I wanted to avoid having any big bolts or screws being visible but new I needed to do something to beef up the structure of my loft. So after some care drawing out I decided that some piece of the loft would actual be two 2×4’s laminated together in order to accomodate the extra weight. But that connections would be made by screwing pieces together with heavy duty structural simpson strong tie screws before laminating together so that the screw heads were actually hidden between the two pieces. It took some patience and time to pull off this design. First planing and sanding all the pieces to make sure they not only matched in their exact dimensions but also looked aesthetically pleasings since they will be visible in my finished house. Then fastening and gluing pieces together paying careful attention to order of operations. But I am quite pleased with how it has come out!

IMG_4655

Lots of clamping action.

It was a couple day project as I didn’t have enough clamps to do more that one piece at a time.

IMG_4657

and more clamping action…

And as glue dried Parker helped me get my collar ties in place! These also had to be sanded and made to look pretty 🙂

01-interior

And when we still had time to kill before the glue had set we just goofed around a bit 😉

02-interior

03-interior

Monkey bars anyone?

I had been worried about headspace but it seems headspace is going to work out quite well. John, who is a little over 6′ can just walk under my loft, and I can stand with my arms pretty much fully outstretched above me and still be fine!

Then I finally got to take all the clamps off and give my loft one last good sanding.

IMG_4669

IMG_4671

What do you think?

And now with both lofts framed out and my bathroom wall I think all the major, structure framing on my house is done!

And what do you know, my interior siding was also all ready to be picked up this past week: some beautiful 1×8 tongue and groove pine from Halstead lumber in Owego, NY.

But before I can put up my interior siding I have to rough in electrical and plumbing and put in the insulation. So can you guess what my next post might be about? Electrical!

