Do you believe that the energy that goes into the creation of something becomes the energy of the creation itself? Well if you do, this past weekend definitely imbued my house with lots of love and positive energy. It was a cold fall weekend, where the first snowflakes of the season fell, and nighttime temperatures dropped into the twenties but my Aunt, Uncle, and Mom and Dad braved the chilly weather and drove up six hours from Boston with smiles, tools, and warm layers, ready to work. And we sure did accomplish a lot!

My mom and dad arrived Friday around noon and I taught them the basics of carpentry. We went over how to change a bit in a drill and driver, some basic saw safety, and then I explained to them what we were doing and why; furring strips on top of the insulation board to create a rain screen, bug screen at the tops and bottoms of the walls to keep wasps and other insects out, and then siding. As we got ourselves into building mode my dad started doing what is now officially “The Tiny House Jig” …

IMG_1485  IMG_1486 IMG_1487      11225355_10205411328463021_6220704629261796922_o

It was serious business 😉

Friday night passed in a blurr of fun times taking my parents to see Liz’s finished tiny house and Amy’s almost completed tiny house over at Hammerstone and then going to dinner at The Finger Lakes Cider House, a hopping scene of delicious local food, cider, and music on Friday nights located at The Good Life Farm, an amazing horse powered permaculture farm.

Saturday we made a big pot of chili and put it in the crock pot which we brought to the site and plugged into our solar power so we would have hot food all day, and then we got back to work, starting in on putting up siding! An hour or so later Peter and Melissa arrived, reporting that they had driven through snow and rain! But here at my tiny house site it was sunny and beautiful, if a little chilly, and I was grateful!

Saturday went amazingly well. We got siding going on two walls and Peter got my southeast corner post up!

12074673_10205415637371210_260830601533788756_n (1)

Peter working diligently to figure out how to notch the pieces of wood that would be my corner trim around my wooden braces. And me in the background starting to figure out my door trim. John came up with a brilliant solution to my door that allowed me to keep almost my full 180 degree outswing!

12074798_10205415642251332_3677116829605960934_n

Melissa and my dad working on the siding on my south wall! My mom was working hard too, but was behind the camera lens taking many of these pictures!

02-miwafamily

Barry showed up too for parts of both saturday and sunday and allowed Peter and I to work on staying ahead of everyone with trim details while he was the cut guy and kept the nailing crew of my mom, dad, and melissa busy. It was definitely a team effort!

Saturday ended with us all feeling quite satisfied with our full days work and tired. Melissa and Peter had gotten up at 4am to get on the road and be in Ithaca by 10am! So we went home, freshened up a bit and then headed to downtown Ithaca for dinner. My aunt and uncle had never been to Ithaca and so we walked through our newly finished car free commons and then found a delicious Mediterranean restaurant called Sahara to fill our bellies at. I had never eaten there before but will definitely go again as it was very yummy!

Sunday we were back at the sight by 9:30 and zoomed along with siding even though snow did start falling from the sky! And Peter got the last corner post in too! Wahoo!!

12106820_10205423250161525_6263219934889397053_n

Hammers, smiles, and tape measurers

Here is the crew near the end of our second work day:

IMG_4423

Can you see the white snowflakes falling? And look how much we got done!! WoW!! So grateful 😀

Many have been asking me what my siding is so let me tell you. It is just hemlock shiplap siding from a local mill operation run by Cory Schillif. And then I stained it with a 50:50 mixtures of raw linseed oil and pine tar, a natural wood preservative, that I got from Solvent Free Paint.

Sunday afternoon my parents had to take off to get back to Somerville but my aunt and uncle stayed and we got the 3rd wall started!

IMG_4433

The first course is often one of the trickiest- getting it level, going around the wheel well, all those details that if done right will make the rest of the wall go relatively smoothly. So having three of the 4 walls started is a huge deal!

It was an amazingly production weekend and I am immensely grateful. And thank you crew for making it such a fun time!

IMG_4428

from left to right: Barry, Iku (mom), John, Michael (dad), Melissa (aunt), and Peter (uncle)

After we finished our work for the day Sunday I got to take my aunt and uncle over to see the other tiny houses at Hammerstone, which was also quite fun. It is amazing how much variation there is in style and aesthetic choices even in a tiny house; they truly can be like an art piece that reflects the personality of the inhabitant. I am quite pleased with how mine is coming out thus far! And now I must say, I am tired in that best kind of way; satisfied after a good full weekend of work. Buenos Noches!

