WAHOO! My Roof is on! And my stove pipe chimney is in!!! And just in time as temperatures have suddenly plummeted and is feels like it could be November! Although, it may be a few months before my stove arrives from Orcas island, Washington :-/ But thats ok. Now I know my house will survive this coming winter, even if for some strange reason I had to stop working on it tomorrow. But my hope is I will have ALL my exterior work done before the snow fly’s! That means, the rest of the window trim, my insulation board, furring strips, and siding all still need to get done! But I am feeling good and excited for my my family work weekend coming up in just a few weeks and then possibly another work weekend in early November witth a few friends from my cabinet making class at Heartwood!

So here are a few pictures of my roof:

This transition from the 3:12 pitched roof over my loft to my 9:12 roof for the rest of my house was quite a trick. I studied the first tiny house that Hammerstone did carefully, which had a similar roof line, and mimicked how Maria flashed that one. It was a good full morning of careful work just to do this little transition on both sides, but I have to say I am pretty pleased with how it came out.

IMG_4370

Here it is from another angle, before the ridge cap went on. There were multiple layers of flashing and counter flashing going on here, all carefully lapped to shed water out.

IMG_4367

And that fascia board is stained with the same linseed oil – pine tar stain that I used on my window trim! I think I am going to use it on my whole exterior, which I imagine will give my house a bit of the look of a rustic log cabin in the woods. But I am open to suggestions and am curious what people think! Although tell me soon if you think it is a horrible idea because I may move forward and start staining my siding as soon as next week 😉

And my stove pipe! That was quite a trick too to put in! And I couldn’t have done it without the help of my friend Saahas, so a big thanks to him! Right now it is assembled as it would be for “travel mode;” just barely sticking up out of the roof. But when it is stationary and I am burning fires there will be another 3 foot length of stove pipe before that cap goes on.

IMG_4365

Although Saahas was there helping me yesterday, today I finished this roof up all on my own, doing that fancy transition between the two pitches and putting on the ridge cap.

When I got to the ridge cap I kind of wanted a second person around as it would mean less climbing up and down and someone there just in case something went awry (roof work does have it’s risks) so I called my friend Rena to see if her or her brother might be able to come over and give me a hand. Rena is in the middle of her own strawbale timberframe build, and when I called it turned out Saahas was over there helping them get her roof on! I got a kick out of realizing how parallel our two builds are right now, and how wonderful it is to have such a close friend going through her own process with her build. It has been a powerful reflection and a great place for me to practice mutual support and celebration of both the joys and the struggles of building. (Rather than competition, comparison, or envy… No I am not perfect, and sometimes I fall into that, but I think most days I can celebrate us all)

So since they were all busy on Rena’s roof I managed to finish the ridge cap on my own, and this is my selfie at the end of the day; Happy, exhausted and relieved that my roof is on!

IMG_4372

Let the rain gods come now, I say!

IMG_4374

 

IMG_4375

I have to say, I was really tempted to just take a nap on the ridge cap a few times… Scooting along that thing and climbing up and down the ladder gets tiring after a while! But I finished it and got to say I feel pretty proud 🙂

Afterwards I took a drive over to Rena’s where they were just finishing up hers! And we swapped stories about how we both had some leaks in the 24 hour downpour that we just had which got us both motivated to get our roofs on asap. And now they are both on! Her’s green, and mine red, her’s strawbale and mine on wheels, both beautiful and unique works of art and labors of love.

IMG_4378

So there she is!! My beautiful house, one step closer to done 😀

 

