This Saturday was an Absolutely Glorious day. I got to experience in the most visceral and real way thus far what my house will feel like when it is done. I finally got it completely sheathed with plywood and got all the windows cut out. And said Good Bye Tarp!! And woah, what a difference it made. Suddenly I could feel the light streaming in (and boy was it a lot of light! I am so glad I chose big full sized windows despite it being a tiny house) and I could see the sky and the field, buzzing with bees harvesting from the wildflowers…. I could imagine being curled up in the loft on a cold winter day looking out my octagon window and watching the snow fall. And to stand inside something I had creating with my own two hands… To know that it was me, from the dream, to the design, to learning sktechup, to raising the money, to working through the fear and the, “who am I to BE…..,” to pounding the nails, to bringing the people together to raise the walls… There is nothing quite like it that I have experienced. I truly feel my heart and soul expanding and opening as I soak in all in… What a glorious journey it has been!! And it isn’t over yet! Thank you to every single one of you who have help to create this; who have witnessed and affirmed me and my dream, who have pitched in with hands, money, encouragement, excitement… All of it. Today I am basking in all and truly feel like I might just explode with love and gratitude….

And now, since I have neglected to post anything on the tiny house since winter here is a little photographic journey to bring you up to speed!

The first days of spring... John knew what his priorities were, and first was a picnic table!

The first days of spring… John knew what his priorities were, and first was a picnic table!

And I got to work, in style :)

And I got to work, in style 🙂

IMG_4018

My first walls starts coming together!

And before I know it I have all four walls framed!

And before I know it I have all four walls framed! (its still early spring- can you tell by the still not fully green grass?)

In the meantime John stayed busy building a glorious little solar shed that now has a solar powered freezer and blender (smoothies!!!) and is precious shade during our work days :)

In the meantime John stayed busy building a glorious little solar shed that now has a solar powered freezer and blender (smoothies!!!) and is precious shade during our work days 🙂

And we prepped the site for raising day, building a fire pit, hanging a hammock, and making a place for food, pot luck style...

And we prepped the site for raising day, building a fire pit, hanging a hammock, and making a place for food, pot luck style…

Raising day!! My first wall goes up :) It was the weekend before memorial weekend. May 16th. And my dad drove up all the way from Boston to be a part of it!

Raising day!! My first wall goes up 🙂 It was the weekend before memorial weekend. May 16th. And my dad drove up all the way from Boston to be a part of it!

IMG_4083

I was nervous as hell, but apparently for naught, as a great crew showed up and we had a blast!

Some of us ladies, two others in the middle of building their own tiny houses (one also on a trailer like mine, the other a tiny strawbale timber frame!), and another getting ready to make the leap!

Some of us ladies, two others in the middle of building their own tiny houses (one also on a trailer like mine, the other a tiny strawbale timber frame!), and another getting ready to make the leap!

Teamwork gets the job done :)

Teamwork gets the job done 🙂

And the AMAZIN crew after all four walls were up and the structured covered to protect it from rain!

And the AMAZING crew (a few missing who had to leave early…) after all four walls were up and the structure covered to protect it from rain!

Now it was tarp city until we got the roof framed and covered... This would be a bit of a project, but John worked carefully and diligently with me, getting the ridge pole in place so then I could set the rafters in.

Now it was tarp city until we got the roof framed and covered… This would be a bit of a project, but John worked carefully and diligently with me, getting the ridge pole in place so then I could set the rafters in mostly on my own.

Ah, sheathing starting to go on (which means soon no more tarp!) and blue sky through the rafters  :-)

Ah, sheathing starting to go on (which means soon no more tarp!) and blue sky through the rafters 🙂

And there she is!! This past saturday, fully sheathed in, joints all taped (well this photo is actually taken before the wall joints got taped) and windows cut out!!

And there she is!! This past saturday, fully sheathed in, joints all taped (well this photo is actually taken before the wall joints got taped) and windows cut out!!

And me as Happy as can BE!!

And me as Happy as can BE!!

And now it is all wrapped up again in house wrap (we finished around 8:30pm on Sunday). It is what I call another awkward teenager stage, so I decided to have some compassion and spare it the embarrassment of photos 😛 But I’ll let you imagine, and hopefully it won’t be over six months before I write my next tiny house post 🙂 But I have to say, it is kind of cool to see all the progress at once!

