Thursday, Sept. 18th: First day of construction

I began this morning by loading up my friend Dave’s little honda insight with two large tarps, some hand tools, lunch, and a fleece to keep the brisk fall air at bay. Did I mention that, at least for now, I am doing this whole project without owning a car? Well, I am. And for this reason and many more it is becoming clearer and clearer to me that this project is going to be just as much about leaning into and feeling the support of community as it is about building a tiny house.

Although some days have been filled with restless anxious energy as I worry about all the possible things that could go wrong, this morning, pulling into our building site, I felt calm and collected. It felt good to be out there alone, feeling the sun on my face on this perfect early fall day. John is gone for a short vacation and Amy wouldn’t be there until after lunch and she had the generator in her car, so that meant I had the whole morning to set up the site, plan, and bask in the fact that I am actually building my home! As I drove into the site this song was on my lips and felt like the perfect prayer for the day:

” I step into the flow and then I let it go. I open my mind, my heart, and my soul. 

I step into the flow and then I let it go. I open my mind, my heart, and my soul. 

I surrender. I surrender. I surrender. I open my mind, my heart, and my soul. “

– A song I know from Dances of Universal Peace

 Then these two little notes from John greeted me and just made me smile even more (don’t worry it is chalk “graffiti,” so will come off super easily):

IMG_3657
“Home is where the heart is”
IMG_3658
“Home sweet home”

After taking some time to set up the site I pulled out my trusty little notebook, my tape measurer and got to planning exactly how I was going to frame out my floor.

My plans, as they stand for now...
My plans, as they stand for now… Well, actually these are already out of date. I switched my north and south walls. What can I say, plans always change!
photo (1)
The final plan for framing the floor that we will follow for cutting our pieces today.

Once I had measured and re-measured and was sure about what length things needed to be I decided I was going to start cutting with a hand saw.

After a few house in the sun working with no power tools I had the outside wood all cut to dimension!
After a few hours in the sun working with no power tools (such blissful peace and quiet) I had the outside wood all cut to dimension!

Then Amy arrived with the generator and my friend Dave came to help out and in another hour or so we had all the joists cut and the frame screwed and nailed together.

Goal for the day accomplished!
Goal for the day accomplished!
Time to tarp everything up and call it a day. Not bad for our first day of actual construction :)
Time to tarp everything up and call it a day. Not bad for our first day of actual construction!
And now back to the idea board to figure out next steps and make decisions, such as what kind of flashing to use, how to break the potential heat bridge between metal and wood, and what is enough insulation?
And now back to “The Idea Board” to figure out next steps and make decisions, such as what kind of flashing to use, how to break the potential heat bridge between metal and wood, and what is enough insulation?
3 Comments

  1. Hey, Miwa. I went to the Big Tiny House Festival today, and was surprised by the large crowd of people there!! A lot of interest in Tiny House! Went to the Hammerstone booth, but it was so packed that I didn’t really talked to anyone there. I was hoping to see several different models, but there was only one tiny house people could go inside and have a tour. The line was too long, so I just checked it from outside. Very exciting to see so many people interested in this concept!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow, that is great to hear! Yes, indeed I think tiny houses are really catching on and it is part of a trend of people down sizing and simplifying and looking to have more financial freedom. I’m glad you went and at least got to see the outside of a tiny house!

      Like

Leave a Reply

