Teaching Peace

To view the full campaign visit igg.me/at/EarthAndMe

Stories have a power and a good story stays with you for a lifetime. Growing up I was blessed with many powerful stories that came to me through The Shadow Box Theatre. These stories included African drum, inspired by African folktales, Lumpy Bumpy Pumpkin, a Halloween rendition of the well known ugly duckling story, and  The Earth & Me, a tale of a child asking the earth, “How do you make a tree?” Opening with a Native American quote, “All things are interconnected. What befalls the earth Befalls the sons and daughters of the earth. We did not weave the web of life, We are merely a strand in it. Whatever we do to the web, We do to ourselves,” The Earth & Me truly caught my imagination as a child and is a cornerstone of who I am today.

The Shadow Box Theatre is a non profit theatre founded in 1967 and run by an amazing woman, Sandra Robbins, who just happens to be my grandmother. When I found out that they had lost a little over $30,000 due to damaged equipment and canceled shows from hurricane Sandy and were considering canceling their spring production of The Earth & Me I knew I had to help. This theatre teaches peace and respect and empowers children from diverse, often under served, families with messages of hope and change. And this show seems more important then ever in the wake of Hurricane Sandy.

So we are gearing up for an ambitious IndieGoGo Campaign as one way to make up our deficit created by a few rainy days. In preparation for this campaign, that should launch by mid February, we need to raise our visibility on all channels as much as possible. Doing this is simple and free and only requires a few minutes of your time.   Will you help us out?

Sandy Robbins and See-More say "Hello!"
Sandy Robbins and See-More say “Hello!”
And, if you have been touched by any of SBT’s productions, which include books, multimedia puppet shows, CD’s and DVD’s, as well as workshops for children and families and teacher guides, we would love if you can write us a review on yelp: http://www.yelp.com/biz/the-shadow-box-theatre-new-york
I will, of course, do my best to keep you all updated on our campaign’s progress through this blog but the best way to stay in the loop is to also make sure you are following us on facebook and twitter. And of course, please pass this on to anyone you think might be interested!
To view the full campaign visit igg.me/at/EarthAndMe
7 Comments

  1. I have been browsing online greater than 3 hours lately, yet I by no means discovered any fascinating article like yours. Itˇ¦s lovely worth sufficient for me. In my view, if all web owners and bloggers made just right content as you did, the internet shall be a lot more useful than ever before.

    Like

  2. Wonderful blog! Do you have any hints for aspiring writers?
    I’m planning to start my own website soon but I’m a little lost on everything.
    Would you recommend starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a paid option?
    There are so many choices out there that I’m completely overwhelmed .. Any recommendations? Thank you!

    Like

    1. For me the free wordpress platform has worked out great and I feel no need to upgrade to something paid at this time. I like the look of wordpress as compared to blogspot and other free platforms I guess because I find it to be a bit cleaner and easier to navigate, with a little more of a professional feel. Hope that helps!

      Like

Leave a Reply

