A Lasqueti Story: Part 10

My family is a beautiful blend of east and west. My mother is Japanese and grew up there. But of my two parents I would have to call her the more practical, logical, and goal oriented one, qualities I associate with a more westernized civilization. Yet she maintains a zen like serenity to her and often surprises me with her intuitive insights. My father, born to a family of New York Jews, took an interest in eastern religions and philosophy at a young age and has actively explored many spiritual and mystical paths throughout his life. Both are incredibly creative with their own distinctive styles.

Until recently I would say I found myself to be more similar to my mother in my way of approaching things—I tended to be a bit skeptical of spiritual, mystical, and ethereal ideas, desiring proof of things before I would except them. I was drawn more to the disciplines of science and mathematics for most of my schooling as well. That is why building attracted me: it is concrete, functional, and tangible. Although this year has been about exploring natural and alternative building I have somehow, subtly, inadvertently also been taken on an unexpected spiritual journey. A journey that is hard to put into words and not in any way tangible. Recently I find myself seeing meaning where before I may have seen none, and I follow my intuition even when it seems to lack or even contradict logical rationalization. It’s a different way of thinking, but I find myself intrigued and at peace with it, at least for the time being. I haven’t quite yet figured out where all of it is leading me but I trust that it is taking me somewhere of some importance. I find myself surrendering to the mystery.

Soon I return home, to family and old friends. The moon is almost full. It is a time when intuitive powers are strong. What will the last week of this chapter in my journey bring?

One Comment

  1. God plants the seed of truth & knowledge, the only way to real salvation. I acknowledge Divine Design BEING THE 9TH son of Heaven. Jesus is the truth our actions define our worth. Some souls worship the love of money and material gain, yet other souls choose to worship the love of God. Our stories and HIS-STORY JESUS THE AUTHOR & FINISHER OF OUR FAITH.

    Like

Leave a Reply

